new diet and a tasty tuna salad

My wonderful friend Tiffany is studying to become a personal trainer and a group exercise class instructor. She is super fit, healthy and completely my motivation to be a better me. One night while chatting about our latest fitness goals, and where she was at with her trainer certification, I broke down and only half jokingly implored her to take me on as a “client” in which she could dictate my diet, advise my exercise and generally make me healthier. She thought it was a good idea, and last week presented me with a diet and exercise challenge. Basically, I am on a low carbohydrate, no sugar, high protein diet. The sugar and carbs are hard for me to forsake in favor of lettuce and chicken breast, having a notoriously terrible sweet tooth, but I have risen to the challenge, I would like to think. In the last week I have lost 3 pounds following her guidelines, and I am thrilled enough to keep it going. As for exercise, she added a simple strength training interval program to my 3 days a week 3+ mile runs.  I get one “cheat meal” a week, and have been limiting my processed sugars and carbs by only eating processed foods with 10g or less of sugar, and only having 1 or 2 servings a day of bread, pasta or rice.  I generally have a light English muffin in the morning or some pasta or rice in a lean cuisine for lunch, and trying to avoid carbs at dinner. Tough, but doable. Thankfully I haven’t been craving sugary sweets, but the desire to still eat them is ever present, so I have to watch myself.

One of the recipes I have been relying on for my lunches is a less fatty take on tuna salad, which I happen to be eating now, and I thought I would share it for you, sans pictures. Ordinary tuna salad is mixed with mayo, relish and eaten as a sandwich, this recipe has no bread or mayo, and is actually a real salad, so there should be a different name, but it serves its purpose.

Adrian’s diet Tuna Salad for 1

You will need:

  • 1 cup mixed baby salad greens
  • 1 cup baby spinach
  • 4 oz or 1/2 cup of solid white albacore tuna
  • 7 grape tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup sliced cucumbers
  • 1/2 a sliced gala or pink lady apple
  • 2 tbsp light Italian dressing (I used Newman’s Own lighten up! Italian dressing)

In a shallow bowl, mix all ingredients together, and enjoy! It’s super simple, has lots of protein from the tuna, you get a few servings of vegetables, and you have sweetness and crunch from the apples.  Best of all, it’s only about 345 calories and you got a lot of food and flavor in that bowl. I personally like that the tuna isn’t a super prominent flavor due to the Italian dressing, so if tuna flavor bothers you, no fear!

4 thoughts on “new diet and a tasty tuna salad

  1. That new diet sounds great! I LOVE carbs and have a major sweet tooth myself, so congrats to you for sticking to the new regimen. Does your friend have a facebook or anything of the sort? I wonder what sort of advice she would give me… I really need to learn to exercise more. Do you think she would mind if I asked for her advice? I wouldn’t want to impose though….
    Ttys!

    • Oh Amber, the diet is not great, but it is working. It was tough to transition into, coming from a diet rich in carbs and cupcakes, and little to no moderation. Now I have to try to fit in 5 proteins, 2 dairy (harder now that I limit carbs and sugar, since fruit flavored yogurt, and cereal are out), and fill the rest with veggies and fruit. Thanks for being optimistic for me though! I will ask Tiffany about referring her to possible clients and let you know :)

  2. you are brave, girl! no sugar and low carbs would be sooo difficult for me! i just went to safeway for groceries today, and i left with: low-fat ice cream, sourdough bread, a loaf of a specialty bleu cheese and black pepper bread and a frozen CPK pizza – mixed in with 5 different fruits, 2 types of cheese and light yogurt. oops. :P

    i am so excited for you, though – already losing 3 lbs!! woo hoo! :D i will try to encourage you as much as I can!

    • Michelle, thank you so much for your encouragement! It means a lot to have cheerleaders when things get tough. Cinco de Mayo created a desperate need to consume way too many chips, but I figure it could be worse. I love your shopping list by the way, so funny!

Leave a Reply

