Goes together like a horse and carriage

From Michelle, who found it on Adrienne’s blog, who in turn found it on Rebekah’s blog Life with the Edwards. I love anything having to do with marriage and my hubby Billy, so I couldn’t pass this up! Also, what else am I going to do, be productive with my Monday?

1. When is your “engagement” anniversary?

March 29, 2006. He arranged for us to be pulled on stage at the Matchbook Romance concert at the Fillmore in San Francisco, where he proposed to me :)

2. When is your “marriage” anniversary?

August 4, 2007. We were married in South Lake Tahoe, on the beach with 50 of our closest friends and family.

3. How long have you known your spouse?

7 years. We met the summer I graduated from high school, at the YMCA where we worked as summer day camp leaders :)

4. How long did you date before you were engaged?

Almost 2 years. I was dying to get married though. I knew I was going to marry him a few months after meeting him, well before we started dating, and told my family this fact. They shook their heads and said “are you even dating Billy?” to which I replied, “Nope, I have the rest of my life to date Billy, but I am going to marry that man.”

5. Where did you meet your spouse for the first time?

South Valley Family YMCA :)

6. What is your spouse’s full name?

Guillermo Antonio Hernandez, Jr. It’s a mouthful, that’s why he just goes by Billy haha

7. Do you have any children?

No “real” babies, but we have 2 fur babies

8. How many? Boys/Girls

1 boy, 1 girl. Hemi and Rush. Both are beautiful black cats with yellow green eyes.

9. Do you have any house pets?

haha yes, see above. We would also love to add an English Bulldog to the brood!

10. Do you own a house or rent?

Rent :( I am desperate to buy a house, however economic times are difficult, even with the housing market being as low as it is.

11. Do you live in the country/town/city?

City! San Jose is huge, and mainly a sprawling residential sort of place, but is definitely a city.

12. What is one of your favorite activities to do together?

Cuddle, chat, watch movies and recorded TV. We also love watching MMA together. We seriously enjoy each others company, and can hang out for hours doing lots, or very little, and be quite content. I’m hoping to add bike/run together, as Billy just got a new bike, and has pledged to ride with me while I run, but it has yet to happen.

13. Do you have a favorite vacation spot?

Lake Tahoe or Las Vegas! Both are so different it’s tough to choose between the two!

14. When did you first kiss?

April 2004, late at night, when Billy walked me to my car. It was a long in the making moment, and was very sweet. I love the way his kisses taste, it was the most amazing first kiss I had ever had.

15. What church do you attend?

When we go, Venture Christian Church in Los Gatos, CA. We rarely get there now, with us both working both weekend days.

16. Is this the church you were married in?

No, we got married in God’s cathedral of Lake Tahoe, on the beach.

17. What town is current address at?

San Jose

18. Do you work or stay home?

WORK! I work 2 jobs, 7 days a week. Thankfully my Monday-Friday job starts at 2 or 3pm, so I have my mornings to myself. Saturday and Sundays are incredibly busy at the salon.

19. Where did you go on your honeymoon?

We stayed in South Lake Tahoe, it was a much-needed and restful vacation after wedding planning.

20. What was the funniest gift you gave while dating?

A collage I made using magazine clippings that said things like “hot” and had some pretty random pictures. It’s still hanging in the closet of his childhood bedroom at his parents house.

21. How long have you been together?

6 years as of May 23, 2010

22. How long did you know each other before you started dating?

10 months. I had a lot of maturing to do before I was able to fully appreciate the amazingly unique and wonderful gentleman Billy is.

23. Who asked who out?

I did!! Billy gave me as much space as I needed to grow and come to the “right time” for us to be together, so it took me fumbling my words and getting self-conscious while saying “I don’t want to date anyone else, I only want to be with you, I love you!” for us to be official.

24. How old are each of you?

25 and 27. We will turn 26 and 28 in December and October respectively.

25. Where do each of you go to school?

I went to Leigh and he went to Lincoln high schools, and we both went to De Anza for community college. I later went on to Fremont Beauty College.

26. Which situation is hardest on you as a couple?

Gaming!! It is our biggest struggle as a couple. He was raised with video games, his whole family playing together, and I was not. Whether on the computer or a gaming system, he plays something every day, for at least an hour. It’s his favorite way to decompress and relax, whereas I prefer reading, and I get very jealous of the time he devotes to his online or imaginary world. Our major fights have been over gaming, but we have compromised a lot and come to a middle ground where he gets to play, and I get the attention I want from him.

27. Did you go to the same school?

Not until community college, and we knew each other before I started at De Anza.

28. Are you from the same town?

Yes, however Billy was born in Florida and moved to San Jose when he was 7.

29. Who is smarter?

We are both very intelligent, but we have our areas of expertise. I wouldn’t tell you how to fix a car, or give you any helpful advice on anything technological, like Billy can, but then again he wouldn’t be able to do your hair, or give you random facts like Google, like I can.

30. Who is more sensitive?

Oh, most definitely me!! Billy is a sweetheart though, and while being manly, he can embrace his sensitive side.

31. Where do you eat out most as a couple?

Hmm, it really varies! We probably eat most frequently at Rock Bottom Brewery, BJs, or Cheesecake Factory, but we like to try new restaurants all the time.

32. Where is the farthest you two have traveled as a couple?

Las Vegas, NV. Twice :)

33. Who has the craziest exes?

me me me me, oh pick me!

34. Who has the worse temper?

I do, or at least I express it far more frequently than Billy does. He gets angry in traffic, and over injustices at work, but not much else. I have regular meltdowns and tantrums.

35. Who does the cooking?

That would be me. Billy’s idea of cooking is microwaving a frozen meal components, or picking up to go food :) Every once in a great while though, he has been known to break down and actually cook!

36. Who is more social?

Definitely me, I am a social butterfly. Billy is content to sit back and observe while I make new friends and start conversations. We both have moments of doing just the opposite, and that’s always interesting.

37. Who is the neat-freak?

Probably me. Neither of us consider ourselves “neat-freaks” but he is much more prone to piling and not putting things away than I am. We both get to points where everything much be picked up before we can relax, I just get there first. We are surface cleaners, so don’t expect a cloroxed house without any dust, as long as we can’t see the mess, we are happy.

38. Who is more stubborn?

Depends on the situation. I am open-minded to changing my opinions with rational and justifiable conversation and arguments, whereas Billy becomes more ingrained in what he believes. I become set in my ways otherwise, so probably me.

39. Who hogs the bed?

haha depends on who you ask!! Billy will say I do, and I in turn say he does!!

40. Who wakes up earlier?

I do. I am incapable of not setting an alarm, even on days I have off. Billy will sleep as late as I let him, while I have to be up and doing something, anything, to feel like I’m not sleeping my day away.

41. Where was your first date?

No idea!! We hung out so much in the 10 months prior to officially dating that it’s tough to pin point any “first date”.

42. Who had more boyfriends/girlfriends?

Hello, my name is Adrian, and I was a serial dater. Also call me boy crazy.  I win, hands down haha

43. Do you get flowers often?

Rarely, if ever. I think I made the mistake of casually mentioning that flowers die and therefore not a good gift soon after meeting Billy, and he took that to heart :) I can count on 1 hand the times I have received flowers in the 7 years we have known each other :) That’s OK, we both suffer from outdoor allergies, and can become quite miserable with flowers in the house.

44. How do you spend the holidays?

We split time between our families. We always do 2 Thanksgiving dinners on the same day, and Christmas Eve we make the rounds from my family’s party to his family’s house for a sleepover. Christmas morning we have brunch with his family, and then spend the afternoon and evening together.

45. Who is more jealous?

Neither one of us is very jealous. We are super secure in our relationship, so we are rarely bothered by the opposite sex being interested…Billy always points out when I have been checked out, to which I am always oblivious.

46. How long did it take to get serious?

Once we were official, we were serious. There was never any “defining the relationship talk” or “are we or are we not exclusive” once we were together. I told my family a few months after meeting Billy that I was going to marry him.

47. Who eats more?

I eat more frequently, and usually somewhat healthier, while Billy will eat maybe twice a day and larger portions than I would.

48. Who does the laundry?

We usually split it up, but I find myself doing it more often, because I have more daily free time than Billy. You should hear the sarcasm and the blame we throw back and forth when neither of us wants to do it!

49. Who is better with the computer?

Billy, because he will take the time to research and is very interested in technology, whereas I couldn’t care less, and I want the easiest way to do something, which usually involves telling Billy to do it for me :)

50. Leave a piece of advice for other couples:

Learn to fight well! Apologize and take responsibility when it is required, and never leave a fight to fester, just get through it, as hard as that may be, so you can come out the other side stronger together.

Also, laugh together often. Never leave the house without a hug and kiss, and always find ways to show you appreciate your spouse, in a way that they can understand (I would hate being given a video game as appreciation, but Billy would probably tear up!)

Remember than men want love through respect, whereas women want love through affection, use this accordingly.

Leave a Reply

