cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater!

 When I am not styling hair on location or in the salon on weekends, I am a nanny for two cute kids, Bryn, 12 and Kobe, 10. But this isn’t about them. My weekday job as a nanny has me looking like a tutor and a taxi cab, driving kids from Los Gatos to Palo Alto, and back to San Jose several times a week. So you can say I have a fair commute. Driving home from Palo Alto during rush hour is one of the worst ways I can imagine to lose an hour of my day. I accept that there are worse commutes, I have even driven them. Hello, I did the 880 from San Jose to Fremont and back commute for the entire year I was in beauty school, and that is hellish, but still not the worst. However, that is neither here nor there (really wanted to use that, sorry if it doesn’t quite make sense) and I have the commute that I do. It sucks mainly because it’s only 25 miles, which would take me 30 minutes tops without traffic, but rush hour clogs up the freeways and creates a delay that lasts at least 50 minutes, if not the full hour. Can I get an amen from all my sistahs and brothas who also endure terrible commutes on a daily basis? Thank you!

Now, my siblings of the commuter faith, you must also deal with the temptations that I do. The temptation that could cost you several hundred dollars in tickets, the scorn of your fellow commuters, and angry honks, fingers waved, and a severe case of nerves that you may be caught. This temptation that I speak of, is to incorrectly use the Car Pool Lane, otherwise known as the HOC lane (why, why??) Gasp!! What kind of bad driving person would drive in the car pool lane that quite specifically says you need two or more people per car to use? BECAUSE SITTING IN TRAFFIC WHILE THOSE BOZOS WITH THE SPECIAL STICKERS GET TO DO IT IS BALONEY! I don’t care if the stickered cars are hybrids and have lower emissions, I drive a Jeep, and the constant stop and go of traffic bring my MPGs even lower than they need to be, and I deserve to get to cruise along in the car pool lane to keep my MPGs at a decent level and get home too!

Now, I have never acted on this temptation, but there is not a day that goes by that I don’t think about just pulling into that extra special lane that taunts me instead of sticking to the far right and middle lanes. Creeping forward what feels like mere inches at a time, and watching the numbers tick by on the clock drive me nearly insane with envy of that faster moving lane and the promises it holds of getting home so. much. faster.

Oh, the things we do for work (which translates to money)!

2 thoughts on “cheater, cheater, pumpkin eater!

  1. don’t do it! i’ve been pulled over in the carpool lane TWICE! The first time it cost me over $400 and the second time it cost me more than $700! Definitely not worth it. Now I happily stay in the middle lanes knowing that it won’t cost me a thing 🙂

    • Oh, I most certainly will NOT be using the car pool lane as a single driver! I HATE seeing car pool lane cheaters, and I wouldn’t want to lump myself in with that, but boy is it tempting. Sorry you got caught, those ticket prices suck!

Leave a Reply

