Wedding cake extravaganza!!

This week tired me out, like seriously physically tired me out. My best friend Sarah was commissioned to make a beautiful wedding cake for her brother’s wedding, in return for the gorgeous cake he had made her for her own wedding 3 years ago. This family makes me sick, they are so multi-talented and amazing. Just a few things Sarah alone excels at: sewing- including pattern making, formal wear, bags, fashion forward attire, and a few prom dresses for yours truly, Baking/cooking- she made my wedding cupcakes and cutting cake, including the hand painted royal icing flowers and also my wedding favors which were homemade chocolate truffles, and she bakes and cooks a mean game anytime she gets the chance, Gardening- she brought her own herbs she had grown in New Mexico while she was living there, home to San Jose when they moved back this past summer and she got a dwarf Meyer lemon tree as her Christmas present, and she is even a veritable  know it all- just ask her a random question, and she will have some tidbit of information that will tickle your brain.  Now that’s an introduction! But back to my cake story….

Since Sarah realized there would ONLY be wedding cake and beverages served to the 250 guests her brother and future sister-in-law had invited, she knew she had her work cut out for her, and thus enlisted my services as a sou chef to help with the load. We began baking on Sunday, committing 12+ hours to white cake and vanilla buttercream (along with cleaning, running out to buy ingredients etc). Monday we resumed our cake making for 8+ hours, this time working on chocolate cake, more vanilla buttercream and flavored buttercream fillings.  Tuesday we finished up with 4+ hours of the remaining cakes and buttercreams to ensure we had enough to create a 7 tier wedding cake consisting of 2-3 layers of cake per tier. I think the final count was somewhere around 17 layers of cake and 15+ batches of buttercream. For all of this, I know we went through 2-3 cans of cocoa powder, about 15 pounds of sugar,  at least 30 pounds of butter, and at least 120 eggs. I say “at least” because I stopped counting after that point.

We reached a state of exhaustion that rendered us completely unable to bake anymore on each day but we came back for more the next.  I give it to Sarah for persevering and continuing to work even after I left, because I know I was “honey, stick a fork in me, I’m done” and she kept going. She’s an Energizer bunny, that one!

But it didn’t end in her kitchen here in San Jose, oh no! Sarah preceded to pack up all the crumb coated layers and ziplock bags of buttercream, pack them into the car, and she, her hubby and grandpa spent two days driving up to Le Grand, Oregon, where her brother lives and the wedding is taking place. There she stacked the layers with specific fillings, and frosted the entire cake, made her own fondant, colored it bright yellow and green, made differing sizes of polka dots, and added the dots and ribbon to the cake.

The flavors went this way from the bottom up. Tier #1= chocolate cake with mocha buttercream. Tier #2= white cake with raspberry buttercream (we made our own raspberry sauce and flavored vanilla buttercream with it, soooo good!). Tier #3= white cake with chocolate buttercream. Tier #4= white cake with vanilla buttercream. Tier #5 chocolate cake with chocolate toffee buttercream. Tier #6= white cake with raspberry  buttercream. Tier #7= chocolate cake with mocha buttercream.

This girl is going places, and I am so glad she is finally giving in to all of us pressuring her to start her own cake business! We are currently working on a business plan and figuring out how to start her out, but when she’s online, you know I will send a shout out her way so you all can check out the greatness that is Sarah and her cakes. If you want to commission a cake made by Sarah, let me know and I will pass the info on!

Here a few pictures from our cake making extravaganza! Sorry the resolution is bad, I only had my Blackberry on me and used that to take photos, not the best quality!

Sarah and I separated all of the egg whites for the white cakes and buttercream, that was only half! We had a "mixer armada" because EVERYTHING was homemade!

 

Just a few of te chocolate cake layers, there were many more!

 

Kelso really enjoyed the raspberry buttercream!

TA DA!!! The finished product!

