Come one, come all!

I enjoyed the comments on my last diet post, and it made me think that maybe, just maybe, you would be willing to be my “eat healthy and exercise” buddies, and would like more detailed info of what I am doing. The lost pound count is up to 4 pounds in 9 days, by the way, which I think is fantastic.  If you want a simple approach to changing your lifestyle for the better, and totally revamping you body in the process, this is for you. I must warn, it is not for the casual dieter, much like my previous self, who would looove nothing more than to eat cupcakes morning, noon and night, or someone who won’t make the lasting commitment to changing the way you eat.  I can say “my previous self”, because I am transformed, renewed and happy realizing that I am not suffering from chocolate and sugar cravings because my body is getting the fuel it really is asking for when you feel like something sweet. I’ve heard it before, you crave sugar when you need protein. Well, I am eating LOTS of protein, so I haven’t been craving sugar, funny how that works!

I used to get so angry reading articles in US Weekly, People, and all of the other tabloid magazines I love (hello, I work at a hair salon, we have tons of gossip rags to read anytime I feel like it!) of celebrities saying they don’t diet. Last night, I stumbled upon a new blog of a master trainer who put it bluntly; celebrities aren’t on diets because they eat clean and healthy EVERY DAY! It’s a lifestyle for them to eat lots of veggies and protein at every meal, so they wouldn’t consider the diet I am working with a real diet, but a way of life. I really like this post that Josh wrote about Lauren Conrad’s diet and exercise routine before her Shape cover shoots (I love Shape magazine, and have bought BOTH of the covers she has done with them). He also wrote an article about how sugar is only slightly less addictive than crack. Hmm, yeah sounds about right when you look at my old eating habits (cupcakes and chocolate chip cookies, anyone?) He uses terminology like “eat like a rockstar, look like a rockstar” which immediately conjures images of Pink and Gwen Stephani with their amazing abs, see below, and “caveman carbs” that are unprocessed carbs like fruits and vegetables.

So here it is, in black and white, for anyone who wants to join me on this new adventure and see for yourself what a little will power can get ya!

Processed sugar and carbs are not good for you. When dealing with carbs in your diet, stay away from anything that comes in a box, a wrapper, or plastic, and rely instead on those aforementioned “caveman carbs” like fruit and veggies. If you are going to eat carbs, stick to whole grains. Some of the carbs I still eat are oatmeal, Thomas light English muffins, brown rice, and Orowheat whole wheat sandwich thins. I haven’t eaten much pasta lately, but I would recommend whole wheat if you do go there. For the amount of cardio I am doing, I DO need some carbs, so having one or two meals a day that incorporate one of the foods above is ok.

Protein should be in every meal. I am eating about 5 times a day, and trying to get protein into every meal. I have protein bars for pre-workout or afternoon snacks (I’m enjoying Pure Protein chocolate peanut butter bars which are 200 calories, 20g of protein, and only 2g of sugar), chocolate banana (sometimes peanut butter) protein shakes I make myself for breakfast or dessert, LOTS of solid white albacore canned tuna, tilapia, chicken breast, and thin sliced oven roasted turkey breast deli meat.

Fill up on veggies. I am eating more salad than I thought I ever would. I don’t typically like salads, I think they can be boring and I’m not a fan of lettuce “taste” but I’ve managed to turn my negative salad thoughts around and embraced this filler. I eat baby spinach and spring mix on a daily basis. I also eat lots of grape tomatoes, sliced cucumbers, bell pepper, avocado, zucchini and yellow squash, artichokes and asparagus. My dinner plate is mostly green. I have a BIG mixed salad, and steamed veggies along with my protein.

Nobody gets fat eating fruit. Tiffany said this to me when she was outlining this diet, and it made me crack up. Fruits are carbs and have natural sugar, but are low in calories. Stay away from mangoes, papaya and pineapple though, they have lots of sugar! Bananas have lots of sugar as well, and will count as 2 fruits, but I eat them every day because they are filling, make good protein shakes, and have potassium, which I need for rebuilding my muscles. I’ve been incorporating strawberries and apples into my salads for sweetness and crunch, and also eat them as a morning snack.

Enjoy a cheat meal once a week. This doesn’t mean you can gobble up the whole bread basket, eat your Cheesecake Factory portion of cheesy yummy pasta, share an appetizer and get dessert. It means enjoy a meal that you aren’t focused on the calorie count or what goes in it. I had my cheat meal at the Olive Garden this week. I ordered the Venetian apricot chicken which comes with asparagus, had a glass of muscato, 2 bread sticks, salad,and shared the black tie mousse cake with Billy. I thoroughly enjoyed the meal and wasn’t too worried about the calories, because I know I still chose wisely from their menu. I usually obsess over food, thinking about the calories, the portion, how much is left over that I still want to eat, everything. Instead, I was happy knowing I had picked a lighter dish, and enjoyed myself. Josh the master trainer says that is how celebrities think of it also; you may make a mistake in your food, but enjoy it, and then get right back to eating healthy, don’t let that 1 slip up derail ALL of your progress.

Find an activity that is fun for you. Do it a lot. I haven’t mastered this one yet, but I am running 3-5 miles, 3 times a week, and I will be adding in a 20 minute simple strength training session once or twice a week. I love taking turbo kickboxing and cycling classes at 24 hour Fitness, but only go when I know someone is meeting me there hehe. If I had the money, I would start taking Krav Maga classes again. I took a few classes over a 2 week period last year and LOVED it. I sweated up a storm, got to punch and kick things, and learned techniques to help me deal with potential life threatening situations. It was empowering, it was fun, and it kicked my ass into shape in a very short amount of time. This is the kind of fun I am talking about. For some people it is Zumba (yikes!), road cycling, jiu jitsu, hiking, walking the dog, horse back riding, etc. you just find what is fun for you and do it.

Remember that diet is 80% of the weight loss game, so eat healthy, find an activity to do a few times a week, and you will lose weight. If I, the cupcake queen, can lose 4 pounds in 9 days, and eat salad twice a day, you can also!

3 thoughts on “Come one, come all!

  1. UGH! I need to loose about fifteen pounds. My BMI is still in a good range, but I am heavier now than I have ever been. I know I need to cut the carbs out of my diet as you are…it is just so hard. I keep saying, “I will start tomorrow”. I hope by keeping up with your posts I will get motivated! Good Luck!!

    • Good job having a good BMI! I unfortunately am at the bottom of, but nonetheless in the overweight category, so I am also looking to lose about 15 pounds. Find activities you like doing, eat sensibly and clean and hopefully you will see your weight loss! keep me informed on your weight loss, I love having buddies on the same track with me, we can be each others’ cheerleaders 🙂

  2. I wanted to give you an update, I am down 5 pounds as of last night! I have tried to cut out all bad carbs from my diet. The biggest thing for me was cutting out all of the sodas and candy. I LOVE candy!! So far I am doing well, no cravings yet. I have a hard time coming up with food to eat, especially for dinner. I am not a huge meat eater, so I use to eat ALOT of pasta, and potatoes. any ides??

Leave a Reply

