an ugly part of me

Ok guys, I am going to get real with you for a second. I’m calling myself out on the carpet, so that I may change a part of me that I think is just ugly, and as much as I tell myself otherwise, is very real.

Yesterday, I met a person and immediately dismissed them because of the way they looked and acted. This person reminded me of Quasimodo and Peanut (the purple ape thing that Jeff Dunham uses in his ventriloquist act) and an elf, see below for full effect:

+ +

He wasn’t disfigured, but he was on the shorter side, had HORRIBLE teeth, pointy ears and weird orange hair. I judged him based on his appearance and the hint of his personality that I was blasted with. Something about him just rubbed me the wrong way, and I didn’t like him. I didn’t even give him a chance, just immediately didn’t like him and wanted nothing to do with him. He could have been one of the coolest, most down to earth, friendly, and caring people on the planet, but I wasn’t willing to give him the benefit of the doubt, just formed my opinion and went on my way. I wanted to leave his presence from the moment I met him, and was less than friendly, but not cold.

This is typical. We are make snap judgments, we form opinions without much to base them on, and we don’t like people because they are different from us. I don’t want to do this as often as I do, I don’t want to be typical. I would much rather allow a person to enter my bubble and really see who they are, get to know them, and then make informed judgments. Not everyone you meet is going to make it into your circle of friends, or even make it into your daily life, but I don’t want to dismiss people based on a snippet of a meeting. I am going to be more mindful of this in my daily life, and try to give people a chance more often than not. I don’t want to be so ugly in my judgments.

Leave a Reply

