favorite summer hairstyles

Summer is officially here! The Summer Solstice was yesterday, and now we can fully embrace the glorious sunshine, water play, being outside and active, bonfires, s’mores and all sorts of goodness!

Summer is also a time when your hair gets completely thrashed. Come on, saltwater and chlorine are terrible, as well as sunshine on your colored locks, so here are some options for you to treat your hair well over the summer months!

Deep condition every week 🙂 Find a nice brand of moisturizing shampoos and conditioners and make sure you take a few extra minutes at least once a week to slather on a heavier conditioner to make up for the heat styling, the chemical treatments and the elements. I love Kevin Murphy‘s Born Again Shampoo and masque, which I use on myself. I am the epitome of everything I wrote above: super blonde hair from coloring, I flat-iron or blow dry regularly, and I am out in the sun every day. I need the moisture and the restructuring.

Find new styles that allow you to not blow dry or use heat tools on your hair. I love braids and side buns and little twisty ‘do styles and wear them a lot. I also work with my natural texture a lot, which is wavy, so I will work in some Kevin Murphy Motion Lotion and then twist sections of hair, scrunch a little and let air dry.

I try not to wear my hair pulled back in super tight ponytails too often because the tension will inevitably start to cause breakage around your hairline which is not so cute. Here are a few of my favorite styles for you to look at!

beachy waves

braids and buns

casual braids

twisty buns

looped buns

braids and messy buns

4 thoughts on “favorite summer hairstyles

  1. Thanks Adrian! Great tips. I have bleached, flat ironed hair too so I need all the help I can get. The tip about tight ponytails is helpful, I had no idea I was doing so much damage to my hair that way. And I do have breakage around my hairline. Also, what stores can I buy Kevin Murhpy products from? I really need a good deep conditioning treatment for summer. Love the updos. I know how to french braid my hair inside out and regular, but can you tell me how to do loose waves? My hair is naturally really frizzy and unevenly wavy all over. Thanks for the help!

    • I’m trying to figure out the logistics of a “how to” post, but it’s definitely on my mind!! I think having someone around to photograph the steps as I complete them would be handy haha.

      Kevinmurphy.com.au for ordering, or we can plan to meet sometime and I can bring the products from my salon for you 🙂 Shampoos and conditioners are $25 each, unless you want the born again series, which is a little more expensive.

      Thanks for reading!

  2. thanks! next time i’m in the san jose area (which should be sometime this summer), i’ll let you know and i can get the kevin murphy stuff from you, that would be awesome!
    you could do a video how to and post it on youtube and link it to your blog.

Leave a Reply

