the vacation plans

I feel like a kid out of school for summer vacation! I know some schools started today, but for me, it was the start to 5 days off, so it’s summer break!

I started my vacay off productively, with a 6:45am run with my good friend Sharon (you know, the rockstar that does triathlons and marathons whom I sometimes run with?) and then promptly went back to sleep for a few more hours. Once I deemed it late enough to wake up for a vacation schedule, I put on my adorable turquoise bandeau top bikini with the ruffle skirted bottom and headed to the pool with Water For Elephants by Sara Gruen. This book so far is amazing. I have really enjoyed reading it, and am taking my time because I am enjoying it so much, which is unusual for me. It was actually warm enough for me to venture into the pool for a bit, and I clung to the side and read while I submerged the rest of myself under the perfectly cool water. I love that the pool is pretty much always deserted when I happen to be there, it’s like a private pool! Oh, I decided I need some sort of big floppy sun hat to wear, so my face can stay shaded while I am out in the sun. I will have to look for one this week!

After I was nice and toasty, I headed back to the apartment and spent the afternoon trolling Facebook, catching up on my favorite blogs, and being deliciously lazy. I did hit my wall of lazy though, as there is only so much I can handle before I go crazy, and decided I would head to the mall for some retail therapy. I took my time, heading to my favorite stores (NY&Co, Charlotte Russe, Forever 21, and Ann Taylor Loft) and happened to pick up a fun dress! I had several to try on, hoping to find one for my friend Michelle’s annual birthday dinner in September, and though I like the one I chose, I don’t know if it will be my pick for the dinner.

Billy had some priceless responses to the dress when he got home and I tried it on for him. First, he said  I looked “like the bee girl from that Blind Melon video!” and then “oh, if you pull it down a little, you would look like a slutty Hamburgler!” Neither of those were what I was hoping for, but once I accessorized it and had on fun heels, he liked it better 🙂 Silly husbands! What do you think of the dress? I was attracted to it because it has a tutu like skirt, and a comfy stretchy striped top. Mind you, I am much curvier than the Forever 21 model in the photo, but you get the idea. I ended my mall trip with awesome raspberry and dark chocolate gelato, which was to die for! I love ice cream, but there is just something about gelato that just does it for me. I think I would gain 10 pounds if I ever made it to Italy, because I would eat my weight in gelato while I was there!

Billy and I took in a later dinner at the Elephant Bar in Campbell. They have a late night happy hour from 9pm to close that is a super good deal. I had lettuce wraps, Billy had a burger and fries, we split macaroni and cheese, and a brownie, and had a drink a piece, and our bill was $24 and change. Pretty ridiculous if you ask me! The portions are smaller, so it was nice to not have giant plates of food that I would probably have eaten too much of, and the prices are a steal. Our waitress seemed to be having a bad night, so we tipped her well. I hope she wasn’t angry about having to work the bar closing shift and serve the people who kept coming in even though it was late. I am not that compassionate for the service industry. I work in it, so I know what it takes to gives good service with a smile, and how lame it is to be mean, rude or dismissive of your patrons, but Billy was nice and was stoked to be on his “Friday” and have two days off ahead of him, so he was good to her. I wish I were a nicer person sometimes, but it takes too much effort!

Tomorrow, I will be teaming up once again with the wonderful people of Element 151 productions, and doing hair and makeup for a music video for a local band called Northern Son. My friend OJ is their guitarist, and I went to school with a few of the band members (though I wasn’t friendly with them), so I am excited to be a part of this project. The treatment for the video sounds really neat, and I can’t wait to have a video to post up for everyone to see, but I can’t get ahead of myself now 🙂

Wednesday and Friday my plans are much the same as today, sloth it up, hit the pool, run, but nothing definite. Thursday I am heading to San Francisco to do some sight-seeing and really check out the city with my lovely friend Lexie, and  I can’t wait to take lots of pictures to show you! We want to walk the Golden Gate bridge, check out Golden Gate Park, eat at lots of great SF gems, and see more of the city than I am used to. My regular repertoire for visiting SF is hit the marina and Embarcadero for Fisherman’s wharf, Pier 39, Ghiradelli Square, or Union Square for touristy things, or head straight to whatever venue the concert I am attending is at, and leaving immediately after. Do you have any SF must lists for me to check out? We plan on spending the entire day there, so I want to fit in as much as possible.

More updates and details of my excursions to come!

2 thoughts on “the vacation plans

  1. I think you should definitely wear it to my birthday dinner!! I love that you were already planning an outfit. 🙂 j just started the search myself for the perfect birthday dress.

    I hope you enjoy the rest of your vacay this week!! You deserve a nice break.

    • I decided to be proactive this year and find something I like well in advance, as the last couple of years I have put it off and then not liked what I wore. Seeing pictures of my not so cute outfits makes me sad, so I want to look forward to wearing a cute dress with you 🙂 The black and white dress is OK, but not exactly what I had in mind, so it’s a good option, but not #1.

Leave a Reply

