Bay Vista 5k

I completed my 2nd 5k this past weekend! The inaugural Bay Vista 5/10k in San Mateo was a huge success, with top name sponsors, a huge turnout, and super great organization, overall I was super impressed.

Not only was I impressed with the event, I am impressed with myself as well. My last 5k I completed in 30:31, and this time around I wanted to come in under 30 minutes. I ended up shaving off 3 minutes from my finishing time, coming in at 27:28! I sustained a 9 minute mile pace for most of the race, even with a gargantuan hill in the last half mile. I attribute my faster time to not having 12 creek crossings to slow me down, and perhaps the donut I ate the night before helped fuel me too (but I doubt it)!

Official times were posted online today. I came in 43 overall, and 6 in my age group (20-29) for women.

I think one of my favorite parts of this race was the goody bag!! Lululemon was a sponsor, and they provided the bag, which I have wanted, but could never afford to shop there to just get the bag. There were samples of several kinds of granola, rocktape, a Larabar and other goodies as well as a book of coupons and info on sponsors. The requisite race t-shirt I received was equally snazzy, and is made of dry-fit material and fitted to the body. This is unusual for race shirts, as they are normally unisex brands with a funny picture or sponsor’s names on it, and made of cotton.  I feel like I made our like a bandit! I probably wouldn’t do the Henry Coe 5k again, but this I would!

My friend Fraggle was my support staff for this race, as Billy was working and NO ONE else volunteered off my Facebook posting that begged for a friend. I thought it was funny that I got no other responses, even people saying “sorry gotta work/I’m busy” etc. I hold no grudges, it was just interesting to see.

Here are the few pictures we took at the race, it’s pretty hard for anyone to capture the action of a run, but Fraggle did alright, he at least caught me coming through the finish line 🙂

Heading to my place in the 9-11 minute pace group pre-race. I’m a happy camper.

Finish line. Why are there never any good action shots of me running? Just once I’d love a photo of me all stretched out, graceful and lithe. Sigh.

On my cool down post-race, again with the waving.  Oh well, it was over, I was happy!

6 thoughts on “Bay Vista 5k

  1. Adrian – great blog and excellent time! We were one of the race sponsors (race tech tee was made by us) and really enjoyed being out on race day and meeting with some of the participants. The weather could not have been more perfect either. We also raised $300 from this event that will be donated to our partner charities that are fighting against child trafficking.

  2. Great job and thanks for the Greenlight tag…It sounds small, but any time a runner gives us a shout-out, it really helps our cause.

    Keep up the good work. We’ll be at the US Half Marathon running the Golden Gate Bridge in November, or the Sacramento Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving…are you ready for your next run?!?

Leave a Reply

