Just keep tracking

I decided to take a page out of Fooditude’s book and keep a public food diary for the week. You can read her original post about this here and perhaps join in this party for yourself? I’m not sure yet whether I will be able to track what I eat each day, or compile a blog at the end of the week, we shall see how busy I get 🙂 Keeping a food diary is a great way to pin point where you take in too many calories during the day, and can be quite helpful if you are looking to lose weight. I have been startled by the amount of calories I sometimes take in without even realizing it.

When I do track my food, which is about 75% of the time, I use the Daily Plate. TDP has tons of verified food and exercises to search through, so you can usually find something that matches what you ate or the exercise you did to get a good idea of the calories you are taking in as well as burning. You even have the option to customize your goals, such as losing up to 1 or 2 pounds a week, maintaining, or gaining weight. You can track your progress right on the site, and best of all, it’s free. I’m sure  there are a lot of sites that do very similar things, so find one that suits you, and keep track!

I’m very glad I am not starting my tracking today, I made way too much food this evening, and chocolate chip (and peanut butter chip) cookies were part of that, and those are my kryptonite when it comes to breaking the diet and healthy living mantra.

Wish me luck!

4 thoughts on “Just keep tracking

    • *pssst* my name is Adrian 🙂 Thank you for the luck, I will need it! I have already kept myself from eating the entire batch of chocolate chip cookies I baked last night, because it would have looked terrible on my log haha, guess the public humiliation route is working!

Leave a Reply

