Meatloaf Monday

Every evening Billy or I will take Marlo for her walk. When I take her, I always make note of the strange, exotic, and mouth-watering dinner smells that emanate from all of the homes in our apartment complex. This past weekend, I happened across the most delicious smelling meatloaf. I am not a huge meat fan, and meatloaf isn’t at the top of my list for meals that make me salivate, however, the aromas coming from this apartment were definitely yummy and it made me crave meatloaf of all things! So while many people are taking part in the Meatless Monday campaign and eating their veggies on this cool fall evening, I made turkey meatloaf instead.

I was inspired by this recipe, but was out of eggs and milk, so I improvised and came up with something new. Here is the recipe I used instead. It smelled delicious while it cooked, and now that I am eating it, it totally wins! So glad I made the substitutions that I did 🙂

Adrian’s Italian turkey meatloaf

  • 1lb lean ground turkey
  • 1/2 cup ricotta cheese
  • 1/2 cup Italian bread crumbs
  • 1/4 tsp dried oregano
  • 1/4 tsp garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp pepper
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1/4 cup shredded mozzarella cheese
  • 1/2 cup ketchup (you can also use marinara sauce, but I like ketchup)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. In a large bowl combine turkey, ricotta, and bread crumbs. Mix in salt, pepper, oregano and garlic powder. Add water as needed and combine until sticky. Transfer to a loaf pan and top with shredded mozzarella, then ketchup.  Bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour.

Makes 4 servings

calories: 287, fat: 11.32, carbs: 18.3, fiber: 0.4 and only 7 Weight Watchers points per serving. (I created this recipe on the daily plate and it gave me the nutritional information based on the ingredients I listed, such a helpful tool!)

One thought on “Meatloaf Monday

Leave a Reply

