Light bright

I have a feeling this is going to be a very light week, blog wise. I know I just posted about how I’m not in my usual funk this year, but I have been feeling a little lackluster when it comes to, well, doing things. I have let my home become a messy, scattered space. I am barely getting around to doing laundry today, but only because I had to in order to have clean sports bras and running tights for my workouts. Writing a blog of substance and worth, something that requires copious amounts of Google and weheartit searches for pretty pictures of hair, totally out of the question in my malaise.

I don’t attribute it to a funk as I usually would, instead I think maybe the gloomy weather may be a factor. It has been raining like crazy, and when it’s not raining, it’s cloudy and dark, in other words, perfect weather to curl up on the couch, watch TV and do nothing that would actually be helpful. I’ve been ensconced on my couch, with the Christmas tree lit up and Bones playing in my Netflix instant queue. every. single. night.  Really not conducive to getting anything done, and being 5 days before Christmas, there is much that needs to be done.

I had to practically tear myself out of bed to go for my Monday run. I gave Nicole, my running buddy, the day off because she completed a half marathon yesterday, that rock star, so there was no real need to get out of my warm, comfy bed to run in the cold, dreary outdoors. But I managed to push through and find some willpower somewhere, that made me drag my butt out of bed and hit the creek trail. It didn’t make me want to accomplish much else though.

While feeling extremely lazy, I still managed to be quite productive. I must express my thanks to the Palo Alto school district for planning a 2 week holiday break for the kiddos I nanny for. They are out of school this week and next, so my hours are very flexible the next few days, and today I was off work at 2:30pm, making my commute home fabulously quick, and thus allowed me lots of extra time to lounge on the couch. I got tired of sitting for so long, so I made dinner. Grilled chicken (yes I grill even in the winter, my covered patio is a perfect grilling spot), with grilled zucchini, and baked sweet potato strips I made with olive oil, seat salt and pepper. Then I baked cookies! My favorite chocolate chip cookies in fact. I am back on the couch and plan to stay here until bed.

Now enjoy your week, productive or otherwise!

 

One thought on “Light bright

Leave a Reply

